Excessive oil passing into air tanks and purging out air dyer, HELP!

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by TowHaul, Jul 23, 2017.

1. TowHaul

TowHaul Medium Load Member

Mar 7, 2016
    My Peterbilt with a Bendix air compressor is now using almost 2 gallons of oil every 1,000 miles. This is becoming insane. When i purge the air tanks, oil comes out, when I hold a piece of paper beneath the purge valve on the air dryer it comes out oil. I replaced the air compressor because of this , however i still have the same problem. At this point i'm worried its either the motor, or just a simple fix to the compressor. I keep reading about problems with the air intake from the manifold to the air compressor. I called Bendix and they said they have a "air strainer kit". Which i believe is a tiny air filter that you bolt onto the air compressor? I AM NOT A MECHANIC, i do have barely enough mechanical skills to work on my truck if i know what i'm doing.

the kit they said would fit is Bendix 278500N Air Strainer Kit for Air Compressors, Includes Filter, Gasket, and Hardware: AnythingTruck.com, Truck & Trailer Parts and Accessories Warehouse

I have absolutely no idea where this would install on the air dryer...which line is the air intake line? Do i then plug the line that went to the manifold? Will this even help with my problem or would you try other resolutions first. The kit is $50 and i dont want to throw money at a problem that i am honestly unsure of regarding a resolution.

To clarify how and where would i stall this kit on my 2001 peterbilt 330 (please be speficic and talk to me like talking the dumb ape that i am)

Also would this kit potentially resolve my issue?

THANKS!!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Heavyd

Heavyd Road Train Member

Feb 4, 2009