Filing income tax returns in every state you pass through?

Discussion in 'Trucker Taxes and Truck Financing' started by double yellow, Jul 15, 2014.

1. double yellow

double yellow Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    State of Jefferson
    I came across this gem today: http://cookcountyrecord.com/news/25...ompanies-must-pay-taxes-on-pass-through-miles

A Missouri trucking company had to pay income tax in Illinois for miles driven through the state. It got me digging (worried that as an owner operator I might have to file 48 income tax returns) and I found that, thanks to the Amtrak Act of 1990, employees & owner operators are exempt. But that seems to mean that if I were to hire just one driver, I would suddenly need to fill out 48 state income tax returns for my 2-person trucking company. Can this be so??? Talk about a mountain of paperwork!

Relevant portion of Amtrak Act:

Definitions of employee & employer:

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. TomOfTx

TomOfTx Road Train Member

Jul 13, 2013
    Friendswood, TX
    It goes beyond income taxes. Each state you do business in and/or even pass through can assess taxes or fees. New Jersey is one of the most aggressive and often target smaller carriers from out of state. There have been NJ revenue agents go right up to trucks parked at locations in the state and impound their truck and cargo if they had not registered with the state and paid previous estimated taxes owed. The ATA has been addressing this matter in recent years to narrow it down to only applying to interstate carriers based in that particular state. For now, you may want to be aware of how certain states handle this and even avoid those who aggressively try to collect the taxes and fees.

Here are a few articles that discuss the multi state tax concerns for interstate carriers.

http://larsonallen.com/Tax/Multistate_Tax_Concerns.aspx