First contact with a broker (or several) for a new authority

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by Gumper, Jan 16, 2018.

1. Gumper

Gumper Road Train Member

Jan 7, 2018
    Butte, MT
    I wanted to post this in the broker section since asking brokers seems like it may get me further ahead than the O/O section exclusively. I’ve been driving for a company for 5 years, and will be out on my own with a truck and flatbed next month. I’ve been observing load boards for weeks watching for recurring routes, and price trends. Making sure there is work in my area that is profitable. Is there any advice to give as far as calling to bid on loads for someone who has never talked with a broker before? I assume getting work for a brand new O/O isn’t going to be easy. I’ve painstakingly gone of my costs, and what I’d like to charge for certain loads to certain areas. Tarping fees, detention time, minimum daily rates to make it worth starting the truck, delivery areas that are hard to get loads back out of, what I’d like to make per mile, stuff like that. I have issues sometimes talking on the phone, so I want to know what is expected on both ends when trying to get loads. Don’t want to go in blind to my first potential job while out on my own.

Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. PPDCT

PPDCT Road Train Member

Jun 15, 2017
    St. Paul, MN
    Gumper:

Honestly? Be polite, professional, and cordial. You're gonna run into brokers who aren't, but the ones who are will value that, especially considering some of the drivers/dispatchers we run into out there. Like anything, brokers are people, too. Don't be afraid to ask for your number - the worst they can tell you is "no." There's plenty of freight out there, and you're hitting the market at a pretty prime time. Make the best of it!

Thouren, DSK333, whoopNride and 4 others Thank this.
  4. danny23tx