First, protect yourself.

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Over the hill, Jan 26, 2007.

1. Over the hill

Over the hill Bobtail Member

Jan 18, 2007
    I am a forcibly retired trucker who unfortunately learned too late the price of being a company man. I used to brag how I could stay in the seat for hours and hours, only stopping for the occasional bathroom break. I would drive all day and the lay down for a couple of hours and then right back to it. I made good money, don't get me wrong. I even insisted on getting the longest run on the board. Now I'm in constant pain and can no longer pass the CDL physical. The damage I did to myself is lifelong and incurable. I did the worst thing drivers can do. I never stopped and got out of the truck and just walked around for a few minutes. I don't care how expensive a seat you have in your truck, your doing harm to the bundle of nerves located in the small of your back everytime you take a bounce. Sitting in one position for hours at a time, days at a time without breaking the cycle will destroy these nerves over time. I now have what is called Bilateral Poly-Neuropathy, It's in both of my feet and now moving into my hands. I swing from near total numbness to excruciating pain everyday. This is a common problem in severe diabetics which I am not. I put off going to the Doctor because of fear of what he would say. Now it's beyond repair. If you start feeling "tingling" in your hands or feet after long stretches behind the wheel, stop, get out, and walk, walk, walk. Just around the truck will do, but, don't ignore this warning sign. I now take eight pills, twice a day and it will only get worse. I started falling over small things because I thought I had raised my feet enough to step over them, but, tripped instead. Never, never never sacrafice your health for a dispatcher who will forget your name a day after you have to retire. Take care of yourself so, you can take care of your family.