Food grade tanker in WV?

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by Eagerestwolf, Jul 3, 2022.

1. Eagerestwolf

Eagerestwolf Bobtail Member

Jan 7, 2019
    Charleston, WV
    Hey all (especially you @Chinatown, you seem to be the guru here), I'm wanting to get back into food grade tanker. I'm located in Charleston, WV (potentially moving to SC in a few years), and I have 4 1/2 years of driving experience. I'm specifically looking at food grade because most of the chemical companies in my area are awful and nobody has anything good to say about them, or I can't drive for them. I have worked for Prime (doing reefer and tanker) in the past (me and tanker division manager don't get along, long story) and Oakley Transport (that bridge is burnt for various reasons, again long story) in the past. In total, I have just less than 1 year of food grade tanker experience (with pumping experience) and I have hauled both HazMat and into/out of Canada. I've still got my HazMat and passport as well. I have an auto restriction. I'm not looking to be home every day (though that would be nice), but I'm definitely not looking to be out for 3-4 weeks at a time. I know Indian River and Bynum are hiring in my area for home weekly, but I've not heard good things (I actually have 2 options with Indian River, Northeast or Midwest regional). I know food grade probably isn't the smartest option given that I live in one of the largest manufacturing areas for chemicals east of the Mississippi, but the companies suck.