Gas tanker backing tests

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by Lonewolf2000, May 20, 2018.

1. Lonewolf2000

Lonewolf2000 Medium Load Member

Nov 5, 2017
    New York
    I’m a new truck driver doing otr but once I get more experience I want haul gas. I reside in the NYC metro area and there are a number of companies that will take you with 2 years experience some just 1. I read an ad online for one company that said you must pass a backing test and I spoke to a driver at a local station from a different company that said they have you do a backing test and if you perform good on it they will take you with 1 year instead of 2.
    Now every company is different but has anyone had to perform a backing test for a fuel hauler and if so how hard is it and what’s involved. From what I understand from reading on here and talking to other guys is good backing skills are a must. Even though I just started truck driving I like to plan ahead. I’ve seen some tiny gas stations so I can see why you need to be good at backing. If anyone can offer insight it would be much appreciated.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Lav-25

Lav-25 Medium Load Member

Mar 31, 2018
    Most of the time you pull in , drop cones and check in, then start sticking tanks and dropping fuel. Reverse on getting out. ( close and secure everything then paper work and go)the backing thing is for those stations that have there drops in weird spots( under canopy, parking area, or in one of my old ones , parallel with the drive way.So yea its important. I used to google map w/ sat view to figure out incoming/ outgoing route and where the drops were.

Njhandofdoom Thanks this.
  4. Woodchuck88

Woodchuck88 Medium Load Member

Jan 4, 2017
    New York
    Im sure it’s very strict. I see where some of those guys put those trucks and I say no thank you not for me.

5. Cali kid