Getting into cryo

Discussion in 'Tanker, Bulk and Dump Trucking Forum' started by Shiba, Oct 21, 2021.

1. Shiba

Shiba Bobtail Member

Jan 15, 2021
    Received an offer from KAG Merchant Gas to haul cryogenic liquids. Since I haven't seen figures posted anywhere, I'm told the pay starts at $28/hr and tops out around $32/hr after 3 years - however, no overtime pay. 2-3 weeks out, 1 week off. Training lasts up to 6 weeks.

What should I expect jumping into cryo? I have no prior tanker experience let alone cryo as I'm coming into this after a year of flatbed and three months of linehaul. I don't need to have an advanced understanding of thermodynamics or anything, do I?

truckdriver31 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. truckdriver31

truckdriver31 Road Train Member

Sep 18, 2013
    why stay out that long. theres jobs that stay out just a week that make that

Puppage Thanks this.
  4. Shiba

Shiba Bobtail Member

Jan 15, 2021
    Having tried otr, regional, and local work I find 2-3 weeks out works best for me. Not a fan of getting home daily or even just weekends. An ideal schedule would be home weekends with a week off per 4 weeks or so. Only have a year exp, options are limited

The pay isn't the end of the world for me. Heck, I'm leaving a job that I regularly gross $2k at per week and I get home every weekend

truckdriver31 Thanks this.
  5. wis bang

wis bang Road Train Member

Jan 12, 2011
    Levittown, PA
    Cold burns can be worse than hot burns.

A lot of CYRO was local, staying out that long is different than my experience of sending an O2 unit to NYC to fill 5 hospitals...

Dennixx and truckdriver31 Thank this.
  6. Dennixx

Dennixx Road Train Member

Feb 13, 2010
    twin cities