Give me your thoughts on my idea. Adding a L/P driver.

Discussion in 'Lease Purchase Trucking Forum' started by Alexander suero, Dec 9, 2018.

1. Alexander suero

Alexander suero Light Load Member

Nov 17, 2018
    I'm a landstar driver. I'm thinking of buying a truck, giving a driver an opportunity to drive it for me for 40 months, in landstar. Pay the monthly payments + $100 to make up my down and after its paid its his truck. Basically a lease purchase. And the next question is how much do you pay per mile for a lease purchase driver. Let me hear from the leased purchase experience drivers!

x1Heavy Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. blairandgretchen

blairandgretchen Road Train Member

Dec 9, 2011
    South west Missouri
    Is the guy a personal friend you’re trying to help out?

4. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    You mean to say that you are happy with a 100 dollar income per month? On a whole tractor?

Sir, I would tell you before this and warn you that lease purchasing through a different party not directly motivated to do a good job is a bomb waiting to go off.

SteerTire, Just passing by and Puppage Thank this.
  5. snowwy

snowwy Road Train Member

Jul 6, 2009
    I wouldn't do it. Too many negatives that can happen and 40 months is a LONG time.

Let the megas rent him a truck.

Puppage, JonJon78 and TripleSix Thank this.
  6. Gdog66223

Gdog66223 Road Train Member

Dec 30, 2017
    Coal Town
    30 months sounds better, but what IF he got burn out or something and 15 months in said hey c ya... there you are with a truck and no driver...

7. STexan

STexan Road Train Member

Oct 3, 2011
    Longview, TX
    You should also talk to a good business CPA and contract attorney. Look out for #1 first then if there’s room, do what makes sense to help a driver work towards goals that are good for both of you.