Had a CDL 30 yrs ago, starting process all over so I can drive family farm stuff.

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by davefred99, Aug 15, 2020.

1. davefred99

davefred99 Bobtail Member

Aug 13, 2020
    Hello, This is my first post here and I don't think I am your typical driver but I could use some advice. As the title says I once had a then Class 1 CDL because I worked in construction as a younger man. I mostly hauled materials and drove crane rigs, water trucks, dump trucks and move equipment. I had my license for about 10 yrs but did not drive everyday because I was a heavy equipment operator.
    Fast forward now about 30 years later I am now semi retired living in Northern Ca. and working part time on my Sister & Brother in Laws family farm. I need my CDL Class a to drive some of the trucks, and move equipment. I will also be driving a water truck for fires because my brother in law is a contract worker for the US Forrest Service too.
    The only recent experience driving Trucks is on the Farm and I did work for a Towing Company for about one year but all the trucks were just under the 26000lb Class A restriction even though thy did have air brakes and diesel engines and 6 or 10 spd transmissions.
    I have recently taken and passed all the test I need for my CDL permit as well as a tanker,air brake,multiples and doubles / triples endorsement. I also have a current DOT medical as required. So I am currently getting some driving experience with my brother in law in the passenger seat but not necessarily everything I need to pass the current pre test Safety and Driving Tests. My biggest concern is passing the Safety walk around and in cab break tests. I also could use some coaching on my backing skills.