Handling hometime issue - what would you do?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by barrister, Sep 14, 2007.

1. barrister

barrister Bobtail Member

Oct 9, 2006
    I have been driving for what I consider a great company for seven months and it is my first driving job.

They have always been good about getting me home and giving me my earned hometime when there; often a few hours more than my earned hometime.

However, last week I was put on a load through the house which would have called for a sacrifice of about twelve hours of my 72 hours earned at home. I argued with the dispatcher and told him I hated to sound insubordinate but I did not want to do that load because it would cut into precious home time which means a lot to me. We argued about ten minutes over possible solutions such as working out a relay (which he would not do) or getting more time on the load (which he could not do). Finally when he forced the load on me (which by our company's rules he may do) I told him I would pick it up on time (which I did) and I would have it at its destination (which I did four hours early) but I would not go home. I would sit with it and take my time on it, even resetting at some point midway between pick up and delivery. That way I would have at least one more day at home once he got me there in the next week. I realize it turned out to be a slow load where I did not make much money, but money does not motivate me beyond having bills paid and a few simple wholesome pleasures of life, and I had a good time exploring some small towns while en route.

A good new driver does not want to be known for causing trouble in his company, or as a whiner, but this good new driver insists on every moment at home he has earned.