Hauling passengers in a trailer. Race Drivers?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by KylerLaird, Oct 19, 2018.

1. KylerLaird

KylerLaird Bobtail Member

Oct 13, 2018
    I'm studying for my CDL using an Audible book. I listened to a section on the passenger endorsement that had me wondering...
    The section said that passengers must be able to exit without the driver's assistance. I recall from earlier research that some states allow passengers to ride in RV trailers (typically with two-way communication with driver). So...are there ways for a CDL with passenger endorsement to legally carry passengers in a (non-RV) trailer?
    Specifically, I'm looking at a fifth-wheel race transporter with living quarters being pulled by a semi truck for my business. Can I hire a CDL Class A driver with passenger endorsement to legally drive me somewhere while I sleep in the transporter?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. CrappieJunkie

CrappieJunkie Wishin' I was fishin'

Mar 9, 2014
    In a van down by the River.
    Um...the passenger endorsement is for bus drivers only, coach or school.

austinmike, Woodys and Puppage Thank this.
  4. Ridgeline

Ridgeline Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    No you can't.

Lepton1 and CrappieJunkie Thank this.
  5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Do you know others with similar equipment? If so, ask them. We see a lot of those type rigs headed to race tracks all over the nation.
    I've seen tractor-trailer horse trailers set up with sleeping units inside the trailer and people riding in the trailer with the horses.

KylerLaird and catalinaflyer Thank this.
  6. GasHauler

GasHauler Master FMCSA Interpreter

Oct 23, 2005
    Vegas/Jersey