having trouble downshifting 10 speed in the lower gears

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Catrachotrucker, Mar 31, 2020.

1. Catrachotrucker

Catrachotrucker Light Load Member

Apr 15, 2019
    I started driving automatic but now I’m driving manual and After a couple months I'm still not a pro at shifting. I can float all the way through the gears going up, and float part of the way down, but I just can't get the hang of which gear to downshift to in the lower gears without lurching the truck. The top 5 gears I’m ok. but the bottom 5 are so close together that when I'm downshifting I have a hard time finding the right one sometimes. And at that low speed the speedometer is no help in telling you what gear you should be in. Any tips that would help

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Upinsmoke

Upinsmoke Medium Load Member

Feb 26, 2019
    No need to downshift in the low range.

4. Mid-May Trucker

Mid-May Trucker Road Train Member

Oct 23, 2018
    Go down to 3 or 4 if you have to come to complete you should be able yo put it in 2 or 1 right as you stop
    In emergency you could always start in three or four as long as you give enough gas.

BigDog Trucker Thanks this.
  5. AModelCat

AModelCat Road Train Member

Jul 7, 2015
    Canuckistan
    Ignore the speedometer. Watch the tach. I never like to get the RPM below 900. Once it gets into that range while slowing down I just drop a gear.

51.50 and tscottme Thank this.
  6. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    The truck lurch comes from the reduction in that low range.

Might as well stay in say 3rd as you come to a stop at red, then shift to 2nd or 1st depending on your load situation and pavement upgrade or downhill. Most of the gears down there are close together and wont take excessive shifting on flat.