hello and 2007 386 pete would you buy?

Discussion in 'Peterbilt Forum' started by Cheepjeep8, Oct 7, 2019.

1. Cheepjeep8

Cheepjeep8 Bobtail Member

Oct 7, 2019
    Hello, i've been lurking for a while, and decided to make a account. I have been driving for 15 years, done a little bit of everything, and decided to jump into the o/o game about 7 months ago. I'm leased on to a tanker company and i haul gas local. I currently own a 2007 columbia daycab with a 12.7 detroit 60, and 10spd with 3.70 rears, 550k miles it's a good little truck, has had a lot done to it inframed, turbo, deleted, front end rebuilt and other stuff, best of all it's paid for.

Now that i've introduced myself with a little background, i'll get back to my question in the title. The man who i bought my first truck from has a 07 386 pete with a 38" flat top sleeper, cummins isx15 435hp with a 10spd ultrashift auto, and 796k miles, visual inspection shows that the turbo, and egr cooler has been changed relatively recently, good enough tire for now (new recaps), and overall a nice looking, and seems to be smooth running truck, that has been owned by a local produce company its whole life. He wants $15k for it, and i need a truck with a small sleeper, and slightly longer wheel base, i've kinda out grown my daycab already. The plan is to sell my daycab i figure i'll put $25k on it, then buy this pete for cash and have some $$$ leftover for repairs (i do most myself) upgrades (manual tranny swap later), etc.

Aside from the rest of my wall of text, what do you guys think about the truck, with this drivetrain, price and mileage?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. snowwy

snowwy Road Train Member

Jul 6, 2009
    That years ISX is a money pit.

Keep looking.

If you buy it. You will need spare rebuilt turbo, egr, and egr coolers. Those don't last.
    Overhead every 100k miles or you'll end up with a dead cylinder.