Help! New Grad & Looking for “Local” work

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Meljoy, Oct 27, 2018.

1. Meljoy

Meljoy Bobtail Member

Oct 27, 2018
    Hello All,

Newbie here. Recent CDL graduate this week. I am having trouble finding a job that allows me to have as much home time as possible. I’m in my 30’s and live in Atlanta: no background, medical, MVR issues whatsoever. I will be taking endorsement tests on Monday.

However, I want a local gig like beverage/food/or similar companies to get started with as I am finding out that I need at least 3 months experience do get an Linehaul/ LTL gig. Also, If you work in the food industry, can you please give insight? I hear that is is physically demanding than most.

Can anyone please help? I applied to Sysco, PepsiCo, MartinBrower, XPO, FedEx, BlackHorse, and Nestle so far.

Thanks so much!

Chinatown Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Farmerbob1

Farmerbob1 Road Train Member

Jan 17, 2017
    You are probably going to have to work OTR for at least six months without any incidents before most class A local jobs will take you on.

The new drivers who find local CDL class A jobs are either experienced, or know people.

Employers want you to have OTR experience because it exposes you to lots of different driving conditions and screwy intersections.

Xeno124 Thanks this.
  4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Sometimes these advertise for local/line haul and new cdl grads.
    Estes Express
    Saia
    Southeastern Freight Lines
    R&L Carriers
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Dean Foods - click here to apply > Apply On Company Site
    Dean Foods uses Class-A & Class-B trucks. You're qualified for both with a Class-A CDL.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~