High SWR - Cobra 29LX w/ magnetic mount antenna

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by jwdesigns, Jul 12, 2017.

1. jwdesigns

jwdesigns Bobtail Member

Jul 12, 2017
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Ok, so I know I've seen similiar issues within this forum, but Im new to CB's and my situation is a lil peculiar. As the title suggests, I just recently bought a brand new Cobra 29LX and the Cobra 42" 300watt magnetic mount antenna. I installed it, taking both leads directly to the battery.

I installed the cb in my center console, and ran the antenna coax from there to the back of my pickup, and finally through a factory opening under the seat. Ran it through there, and up the bed of the truck to the toolbox. To do this, I had to disassemble the mount from the antenna to make it fit through the opening. (See photo of antenna). IMG_5418.JPG

To disassemble the mount from the antenna I had to remove the little screw on the bottom of the mount. When I removed the little rubber protector on the bottom it had this little metallic type film. I had to puncture it to remove the screw. Is this tear in this metallic film causing any issues? (See photo) IMG_5417.JPG

After I ran the wire, I made sure to assemble the antenna the same way I took it apart. The only noticeable difference was the little rubber gasket thing that goes between the antenna base and antenna mount. It fit around the bottom screw pretty tight, and I noticed the hole in the middle, where the screw goes, was a lil bigger. Not sure if that would cause any problems.

Anyway, I calibrate as the manual says; I goto a relatively open area, calibrate and I still get a high SWR. Between 2.8 - 3.5 or so. I run the "radio check" feature and get both "RF power failure" and "Antenna warning". After another calibration, adjusting the antenna a lil, those go away. And now, I still have a high 3+ SWR.

A little info - my antenna is sitting on the back of my toolbox. This toolbox has a