Honest Advice from Experience? Calling Flatbedders

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by PolishPrince, Jan 21, 2018.

1. PolishPrince

PolishPrince Light Load Member

Jan 11, 2017
    Chicago
    First off, I am a company driver for three months now. I got my CDL and have been hauling open step-deck from the start in Oct. Exactly where I wanted to start, got lucky, proved myself and now been solo for 2 months. I do have many family members that do or have done OTR, all o/o. So this isn't a post about don't get your own authority advice or it's harder then you think. I know what it takes to run a business and a truck. But what I do or could use some help on is truck and trailer advice.

My personal goal as a step-decker is to be as Versatile as possible. OD, over-wieght(ish) permitted loads, cars, building supplies, basic commodities, machinery, equipment, etc etc etc.

I am willing to give up heavy haul to start because I do want an all aluminum trailer, 1) for increased cargo capacity, and 2) for lighter weight.

So I now consider myself 9months from my own truck and authority. I've already built a whole list of relationships with so many brokers, just as a company driver! All saying you have work from me when you want it(paraphrased)... Saving every dollar I'm making as the wife more then covers home bills, and I honestly can't believe how much I'm making as a "rookie" Can't wait, real excited. Really just waiting to save, and hit the 1 year mark, which makes the insurance premiums manageable.

I say "rookie" because on paper I just started, but I have been driving 18wheelers since I was 12 with my old man, every summer. I can drive and back circles around so many idiots today. And this would be my second business so yep, good there too. But trucking Sure is different then what I remember in the late 90s. Anyway...