Hourly or mileage

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by bduke, Feb 27, 2008.

1. bduke

bduke Light Load Member

Feb 21, 2008
    Fontana, ca
    Hey all.

I am new here and have been reading a lot of posts. I am an hourly paid driver although not union. I would like to know if you had your choice, how would you like to be paid. Also, how does hourly vs mileage pay work out for you. Do you think that mileage pays better when you figure in you time. I look forward to hearing from those that are interested.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. GasHauler

GasHauler Master FMCSA Interpreter

Oct 23, 2005
    Vegas/Jersey
    Mileage will never be better than hourly if the hourly wage is truely an hourly job. I got paid every minute I was working at higher than union scale. Anything over 10 hours a day was overtime and I could work a full day of overtime if I wanted to. That was the gasoline business and it's a little different than OTR.

You'll never see many companies pay by the hour for OTR jobs. The last one I know of was UPS on their line haul and they got good money. Over $20 an hour in 1990. Freight companies would go broke if they had to pay the drivers for waiting to load or unload a good hourly wage.

4. MACK E-6

MACK E-6 Moderator Staff Member

Sep 19, 2005
    Baltimore, MD
    You'll always make more money hourly.

But I've noticed something a while back. I've found that really with any line of work, increased wages are more often than not proportionally matched by increased aggravation.

I make more than 99% of OTR drivers, but I do envy them sometimes. They pick up a load, and don't have to talk to a soul for 3 days. The only time they have to bother with other people is loading or unloading.

5. myminpins

myminpins Road Train Member

Sep 20, 2007
    Dartmouth, NS, Canada