Hours of Service: Can I Go Over 14 Hours in the Company Yard?

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by trucker3573, Dec 3, 2011.

1. trucker3573

trucker3573 Light Load Member

Nov 1, 2009
    Here is the scenario.....I work in the LTL industry and do a short run every night. I usually work 11 to 11.5 hours a night with driving, dock working and breaking and hooking sets, however this week was crazy busy and one morning I literally pulled into our yard at my 14th hour. I was concerned that I could not show dropping out my set and fueling the truck (both compensated tasks) as it would put me over my 14 hours. I had several people tell me that I can log over 14 on the on duty not driving line as long as i am done driving given that:

1). Do not drive again until 10 hr break is taken.

2). Do not work over 70 hrs a week.

This just goes against everything i thought I knew, I thought when your 14 hr clock was up it was up. Is this true....can I go over 14 once I am in the yard and will not drive again before a 10 hr break......wether it be dropping trailers or even working the dock. Would really be great if a DOT officer could answer this. Thank you in advance all.

scottied67 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Scalemaster

Scalemaster Heavy Load Member

Mar 13, 2011
    Midwest
    395.3 FMCSR

(a) ... nor shall any such driver drive a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle:
    (1) More than 11 cumulative hours following 10 consecutive hours off-duty;
    (2) For any period after the end of the 14th hour after coming on duty following 10 consecutive hours off duty...
    (b) ...nor shall any driver drive a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle... for any period after—
    (2) Having been on duty 70 hours in any period of 8 consecutive days ...

Re-stating the rule:
    - You may not DRIVE more than 11 hrs after 10 hrs off-duty