How long will oilfield truck driver jobs last?

Discussion in 'Oilfield Trucking Forum' started by 439530, Jun 28, 2013.

1. 439530

439530 Light Load Member

Jun 28, 2013
    San Antonio
    I am new to the industry, I am currently in a CDL school at this time. My goal is to go into the oilfield with a CDL (Eagle Ford Shale). However, I was watching a youtube video of marathon oil and the fracking process. It says that the first step is Drilling, the second is fracturing, and the third is production. My question is, if it only takes a short while to fracture a well which requires water haulers, sand, etc CDL guys, after which is the production stage, it seems there aren't any CDL guys anymore at the wellsite. I understand that the oil and natural gas production outlook looks great, but what about the haulers and CDL guys? Am I wrong to assume therefore that the oilfield wont need CDL haulers once every well site has reached the production stage? And if so, how long will this truck driver boom last? Thanks for answering.

kevin7845 Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Me99

Me99 Medium Load Member

Jul 7, 2011
    You need more trucks during the production phase than any other phase. Water and oil are pumped out of the well and into production tanks. Some leases pipeline it from there but most places hire trucks to haul it off. In the beginning you can get as many as 50 loads from a well in 24 hrs and eventually it will slow down to one load every few weeks. There will be oilfield driving jobs for another 50 years.

kevin7845 Thanks this.
  4. 439530

439530 Light Load Member

Jun 28, 2013
    San Antonio
    Thank you for your reply. I want to eventually become a o/o hauling crude. I would hopefully like to start off with FFE but my school has good connections (Goodwill Career Academy) with some local water haulers that can get me started. So, ill see.