How to become a broker?

Discussion in 'Freight Broker Forum' started by j0nnyBo1, Apr 22, 2018.

1. j0nnyBo1

j0nnyBo1 Bobtail Member

Nov 30, 2015
    I'm currently a driver. Been driving about 10 years now for various companies. Very good at what I do. I'd like to exchange my steering wheel for a desk, but I don't really have a clue which door to put my foot in, much less how to do it.

What are some day to day activities I might expect?

Anything helps. Thanks!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. PPDCT

PPDCT Road Train Member

Jun 15, 2017
    St. Paul, MN
    Well, first thing I suggest is going to find a small to midsized brokerage that doesn't have their own trucks and going from there. Learn on someone else's dime.

Just be ready to make a soulcrushing amount of cold calls, especially starting out.

Good luck!

Tug Toy and boredsocial Thank this.
  4. boredsocial

boredsocial Road Train Member

Apr 13, 2014
    Louisville, KY
    This is the right advice. If you can get away with not signing a noncompete I'd go pretty far to avoid one. Particularly for someone with 10 years as a driver.

Do you dispatch your own loads currently?

5. stayinback

stayinback Road Train Member

Jan 24, 2014
    chicago,il
    To the OP- Yeah I Get.....10 years on the pavement- changed the way you Look,Feel and outcomes n your personal life.

Becoming a broker doesn't necessarily mean your going to win it big, Not in todays Climate where Brokers have margins of 5-10%

Not trying to persuade you in any way....but If your "good" at what you say you are-n Theres Tons of money to Make driving at this time

Everyone wants to be a broker because of the Obvious Reasons Not Leaving your Home/or office, Or Not being Responsible against the public.

Choose Wisely Young Man.

6. boredsocial

Apr 13, 2014
    Louisville, KY