How to get direct shippers, cutting out the (Thieves, this is my opinion), brokers

Discussion in 'Ask An Owner Operator' started by pktruckdriver, Jun 10, 2007.

1. pktruckdriver

pktruckdriver Bobtail Member

Jan 4, 2007
    I am new to having my own authority and do believe that I have jumped into the pool without checking to see if there was any water in it first.

With truck payments, insurance, factoring, fuel and the tons of paperwork involved with going out on your own is very overwhelming to me and I could use all the advice that I can get to help me wade thru this nightmarish maze of endless tricks to be successful at this business.

OOIDA has some helpful programs that help us, but getting it out of them isn't the easiest thing to do. Maybe this forum might give me better ideas that I will use to make my business successful. So here is my requests for help in the following areas:

1. How best to get direct shippers? Cold Calling?, Shipping directories?, Yellow Pages?, web based directories? State business directories? Orr ask shippers that the brokers you used to get loads from before and is this allowed,(legal or not?) and who enforces this?
    1a. How to get these directories?

2. Services that can help handle all the paperwork that goes with being an O/O , like log auditing, fuel taxes, maintence file keeping, drug testing pools and all the others that I'm forgetting that need to be kept for those AUDITS THAT YOU WIIL GO THRU.
    2a. What should these services cost you?? Whats too much??

3. Without Direct Shippers, then what boards are the best for vans and reefers?
    3a. what are these to cost??

4. Associations that might be useful to join? And why?

5. Tax Preparers for truckers only??
    5a. What do these cost???

6. And as always, what have I left out?
    6a And what will cost me, lol??