Hypothetical Licensing Question...

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by LateNightCable, Feb 27, 2018.

1. LateNightCable

LateNightCable Light Load Member

Feb 16, 2018
    I’m a legal resident of Florida and I’d like to obtain a CDP before signing onto to any schooling program, so naturally it would be a Florida permit.

I have close family in Salt Lake City to base with, so have strongly considered C.R. England’s campus there - despite some England reviews and their six-month teams arrangement... Which may actually be beneficial if teamed with a veteran driver.

My question is, if my permit is from Florida, my potential trainer/employer is from Utah, and I’m still a legal resident of Florida, what state would my CDL be issued from?

Thanks for any input!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. buddyd157

buddyd157 Road Train Member

May 25, 2017
    under a shade tree
    i thought the way CR did it was, you use thier base as your home, get a permit there, then get your license, THEN you go back to your state, and exchange the CR state base CDL, to your state CDL.

beware, you only think, you might get a veteran CR co-driver......

ladr and jammer910Z Thank this.
  4. LateNightCable

Feb 16, 2018
    @buddyd157 I definitely wouldn’t count on a veteran co-driver, nor expect any to actually want to do that unless they were a trainer.

A YouTuber who trained at England said he showed up with his permit, and received expedited CDL training because of it (10 days). Then served the last three months of his nine-month contract as a company trainer (at a rate of around $1,500/wk.)

5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Prime Inc. also has cdl school in Salt Lake City; here's direct from their website:
    Does Prime offer CDL Training?