I’m not experienced but....

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Slim51, Feb 20, 2018.

1. Slim51

Slim51 Light Load Member

Sep 22, 2017
    Maine
    I’ve learned a lot the last few months. One humbling experience after another, today being no different.

I was heading south on 95 in Southern CT, doing my thing, and keeping the sun in mind since It was in my eyes at times and close to sunset. As I approached a right hand turn that was going to face southbound traffic in the western direction, I made a mental note and put my visor down and slid my shades over my face before I was directly facing the sun. Well evidently not everyone anticipated the potentially blinding sun, which of course became my problem. Being inexperienced, I wasn’t anticipating others LACK of anticipation and ended up having a close call when traffic just seemed to stop in front of me. On top of this I wasn’t able to aim very high in vision due to an overpass and the way the road was sloped on that turn. My trailer tires locked up and everything. Luckily I stayed straight, and thank the big man up high that I had a reasonable following distance.

Long story short; Plan for others lack of anticipation in situations where you see a potential problem.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. jammer910Z

jammer910Z Road Train Member

May 28, 2015
    What seems like a "shortsight, and inexperience" on your part.. was just the opposite.

It was close.

The little knowledge you've gained so far you USED and it saved you.
    Had you not done exactly as you did, someone would have been hurt and you'd most likely be out a job.

Remember it. Learn from it.
    We ALL have close calls that we avoid because of some little thing we did because we noticed something.

That's exactly what happened here.

Could you gave done better?
    Certainly. You got better today.

4. Slim51

Slim51 Light Load Member