"I am interested in starting a trucking business."

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by TripleSix, Jun 22, 2019.

1. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009
    Copied in Hell
    "Hi. I am interested in getting into trucking. I have a degree in business, and have worked in an office for 30 years. I want to buy a truck and make lots of money. I see trucks for sale all the time for $20000. I can buy one in cash. But I need help in getting started. Any suggestions?"

"Hi. I am interested in owning a restaurant. I have a degree in business, and have worked in an office for 30 years. I want to open my own restaurant and make lots of money. I see buildings and locations for sale all the time. I can find one easily. But I need help in getting started. Any suggestions?

The correct answer in any other venture would be to go out and learn from someone else. But because we are "just driving" everyone feels the need to skip the first part. It's not just driving. It's business whether you own the truck or not. What kind of things do drivers learn in their first year of driving?

What difference would one year as a company driver make vs someone who's never been in a truck? 1 year in a truck, running 48, you will have a good idea about the regs, the truck and your limitations. In fact, the questions that a 1 year company driver would have about being an owner operator would be COMPLETELY different. He's already seen the regs (the HOS and all the legal stuff that you have to know) in action. He's been in places with the truck that were extreme, be it traffic, the terrain or the weather. No amount of car travel qualifies as trucking experience. That 300 mile drive to grandma's house doesn't mean anything.

Most importantly, he will know about himself. See all the crying and bellyaching and negativity in these posts?