I need help! Legally modify commercial truck?

Discussion in 'Trucking Industry Regulations' started by asherlee2, Mar 18, 2021.

1. asherlee2

asherlee2 Bobtail Member

Mar 18, 2021
    Hello all! I am new to the forum but have been reading a lot. I can not find any legal information on what I am trying to do.

My question is can I legally install a newer, custom cab on my medium duty truck?

Backstory and info:
    I am a welder/fabricator and started working on a 2001 F650. I have built a 8 door "super truck" cab for the F650.

I currently own the 01' F650 and an 84' international. The cab on the international is GONE. Not repairable by any means. However the frame, drive line, and everything else is perfect. The f650 is essentially the opposite. However I can not install the 84' stuff into the 01' chassis due to regulations I CAN find. Lol

What I want to do is put my custom cab from the F650, onto the international frame, but retain my registration for the international.

I see no regulations stating I "can't" repair my truck this way. And want to know if I can get away with this legally, and still be able to explain myself and pass an inspection.

I know this is probably the most expensive and backwards way of doing this. My question is not if it is practical. But rather, if it could ever be legal by any means.

I know the newer "CV" line using a GM cab. If international used a ford cab at any time, I would simply be "updating" my cab.

Thank you.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Socal Xpress

Socal Xpress Road Train Member

Dec 6, 2014
    Los Angeles, Ca
    Ok what state and are they both diesel? Also is this for commercial use or personal?

asherlee2 Thanks this.
  4. asherlee2

asherlee2 Bobtail Member

Mar 18, 2021
    I am in GA. They are both diesel. 01' Ford is 5.9 Cummins. 84' international was originally dt466. Has mechanical 8.3 Cummins in it now.