i want to start a hotshot carrer what all do i need to get started

Discussion in 'Expediter and Hot Shot Trucking Forum' started by andy789, Nov 2, 2016.

1. andy789

andy789 Bobtail Member

Nov 2, 2016
    hi guys Im new to this hotshot business and i recently purchased a 3/4 ton truck (not a dually)and a 30' gooseneck flatbed with a 14000lb capacity that being said do i need a cdl since i would be under 26000lbs and what all do i need to do to get started as far as paper work dot numbers and equiptment thank you in advance!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Ryan S2016

Ryan S2016 Medium Load Member

Feb 11, 2016
    Western North Carolina
    I have the same 3/4 ton truck and a 35.5 foot Kaufman GVWR 14,000 no you don't need a CDL for that setup as for obtaining DOT and MC you need proof of liability insurance and cargo insurance, you need your license to operate from the secretary of state business legal name. When I got my DOT number it was free but the MC# cost me around $300.00 before they assign it and then you have to wait at least 30 days for your final authority to be granted. You can not operate just because you have your DOT and MC numbers you need to be granted authority. You will also need a registered agent for your business and a blanket process agent for DOT to file your MCS forms. It's gonna take a good month or two before you can actually operate under your authority.

CMC1, andy789, texasbbqbest and 2 others Thank this.
  4. andy789

andy789 Bobtail Member

Nov 2, 2016
    thank you for the reply one of my other concerns is my plates.Im assuming i need comercial plates to drive interstate?Also since im under 26k and dont have a cdl do i need to enroll in a dot compliant drug and alcohol consortium?

Last edited: Nov 9, 2016
  5. Ryan S2016

Feb 11, 2016
    Western North Carolina