Ideas on Load Securment

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by Arisonius, Jul 2, 2018.

1. Arisonius

Arisonius Bobtail Member

Jul 2, 2018
    Hey Guys,
    So I'm new to the flat-bed world and I'm going to be hauling a getup similar to this right here: https://imgur.com/a/8rKtFOf and I'm looking for experienced drivers take on what would be good securement here. This is G70 1/2" chain, my boss wants 100% of the WLL so going across the trailer is the only option if I understand things properly. Any thoughts or ideas, or maybe I'm doing something wrong or there is something I could be doing better, would be a great help.

Thanks in advance,
    Arisonius

Edit: Mods, I just saw there's a flatbed forum. This post might do better there if it can be moved?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Ridgeline

Ridgeline Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    70-1/2 has a wll of 11k, i don't see it happening how you have it, the points on the load you have the chains on don't look like they are intended to hold the load down, so it looks like an RV and if it is, then axles should be used.

4. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009
    Copied in Hell
    A bus...

It's over 10000lbs, and so the law requires that you use 4 points of securement regardless of the chain WLL. You want a 4 point pull to prevent any forward, rear, side to side movement and up and down. Cover the 4 points first and then cover for the weight of the bus. Got it?

EDIT: I just realized that you are talking about doing across the trailer, an indirect securement. DONT DO THAT. You want a minimum of 4 points direct pull, and then add additional for the weight. No indirect securement.

@johndeere4020 or @Ruthless will be along to offer any other help you may need.

snowwy, Lepton1, Feedman and 1 other person Thank this.
  5. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009