Immigrant wanting to truck

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Gambinos Wrath, Nov 1, 2011.

1. Gambinos Wrath

Gambinos Wrath Light Load Member

Nov 1, 2011
    Denver, co
    So, I've recently immigrated to the united states, was in a long term relationship and finally married my wife who is an American. I originally come from Australia, where for the last few years I worked for aust post delivering the mail on the motorbike. Because of that I found I love the driving, would avg 5 hours a day riding all over ###### terrain in any weather. My plan is to become a trucker for that reason, I also get to see this beautiful country. Now to my ?'s

1. I have driven in the states 4 months, but have only had my us licence for a month, swift says that doesn't matter. I have been driving in aust for 8 years+

2. I am not worried about the criminal background as the us is cert specific about finding out everything about you before letting you in as does aust post.

3. Is their any other things I should know about? I have the cash to pay for schooling up front (hell I have the money to not work for 5 years, but I would prob kill myself, I need something to do)

I've basically decided on swift as thwy will take me from the get go, but I have also read what alot of people have said, please any advice would be very welcome

Cudascious Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Cudascious

Cudascious Medium Load Member

Feb 25, 2011
    New Mexico
    Hi, my opinion is to go to Sage Trucking School or another reputable school and get your CDL first, rather than acquire it through company training. Then pick a company that will be more likely to meet your needs and desires. You will be away from your wife for extended periods of time, thats part of going OTR.