In the Prime Light

Discussion in 'Prime' started by Chevy_Dude, Mar 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chevy_Dude

Chevy_Dude Bobtail Member

Feb 24, 2009
    Lugoff, SC
    I thought I would write a thread about my time at Prime. I started the student training here in Springfield yesterday. I didn't have a permit and have only ever sat in a tractor once, a long time ago. So this is coming from a total newbie to the trucking industry.

Yesterday was hectic, felt like I was joining the Air Force again, a lot of papers to sign, go to this room and wait, go to that room and wait some more. Everyone seems nice and helpful though. The millenium building is something else, really good food too.

I waited until today to start this thread, wasn't sure if my blood pressure was going to check out this morning, it didn't yesterday. If your pressure is not at or below 140/90, then you go home for 30 days and can try again after that. You have to start all over again, paperwork and all. I forgot to take my meds yesterday, so that's why it was high, it was fine today. You get two chances to pass this, once on the day everyone is tested and then the following morning if needed.

Took the tests at the Prime training location for the permit, passed them all. Hazmat, tankers and doubles/triples too. Figured why not try them, it was free and the testers were here. I'll head to the DMV at 1500 to get the permit card and then I am done for the day.

As far as the testing goes, you can take one test, like general knowledge for example and then go back to your room and study, come back and take another test. Rinse and repeat for all the tests you want to take. That helped me to pass the endorsement stuff.

I guess that's about it for now. i'll try to keep this updated the best I can. If you have questions, ask away and I'll try to answer them.

mustang970, Baack and TruckerMike Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds