Inherited a Truck No experience nor CDLs

Discussion in 'Lease Purchase Trucking Forum' started by SheenaLove, Aug 15, 2018.

1. SheenaLove

SheenaLove Bobtail Member

Aug 15, 2018
    Hello everyone,

So I just inherited a truck from my father yet I have no experience nor idea what to do with it. Obviously I would like to make money off of it by keeping it on the road. My plan is to hire someone to drive it, My question to all you experienced owners....

1. How should I go about keeping the truck running? Will a fleet company allow me to sign with them if I'm not the operator?

2. Should I go thru a fleet company or broker?

3. Should I go to school even if I have no desire to get a cdl?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. PeteM

PeteM Light Load Member

Aug 14, 2018
    You should sell it!

4. blairandgretchen

blairandgretchen Road Train Member

Dec 9, 2011
    South west Missouri
    The TTR has been through this one before.

Believe me, I'm a champion of the under dog, and have seen them rise to lead packs - but the first instinct I can type . . .

Sell it.

5. snowmantrucking101

snowmantrucking101 Heavy Load Member

Mar 8, 2017
    I have to concur... this day & time it would be more trouble & cost consuming than it's worth.

Cottonmouth85 and rabbiporkchop Thank this.
  6. austinmike

austinmike Road Train Member

Jul 11, 2011
    Missouri
    yep throw a For Sale sign on it -

Cottonmouth85 Thanks this.
  7. RustyBolt

RustyBolt Road Train Member

Feb 21, 2015
    Bement, IL
    I have to agree with the "sell it" crowd. With no experience, you'll be lucky to keep beer money for yourself. What you don't pay to the driver will be going back out in fuel, taxes, insurances, maintenance and repairs. So, ask yourself if the stress of keeping that truck moving and the possibility of loosing everything you own in a lawsuit is worth a few thousand a year.

8. x1Heavy