Is it cheating to write down moves to parallel for my skills test?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Dinky, Jan 20, 2021.

1. Dinky

Dinky Bobtail Member

Jan 20, 2021
    I am in Driving school. I am at the driving skills portion of my test. Wouldn't it be smart of me to write down the moves to do the parallel, so that I could do it correctly every time? Or is that against the DPS testing authority?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Kevink123

Kevink123 Bobtail Member

Jan 20, 2021
    I'm new to this as well but I mean as long as you don't get caught...
    I'd recommend memorizing it and actually getting good at doing it though. what good is having it written down going to be when you are attempting to park between two brand new trailers?

4. Farmtractor9900

Farmtractor9900 Light Load Member

Nov 6, 2020
    Sorry but No cheat sheets are allowed when you're doing the driving test.

buddyd157, aussiejosh and flood Thank this.
  5. D.Tibbitt

D.Tibbitt Road Train Member

Apr 26, 2013
    Gettin' down westbound
    Why not just figure out how to manuever the truck? Dont overthink it , just try to be one with the truck.

6. Bean Jr.

Bean Jr. Road Train Member

Mar 30, 2014
    I learned the old fashioned way. I rode with my dad until I was old enough to get my Class A, pre-CDL days. I moved from state to state transferring my license until I got to Illinois, and I had to take the road test again. I took my tractor and borrowed a trailer from work and failed the practical. I called a friend of mine who recommended a school that I could use their tractor trailer. The instructor showed me all the landmarks in their yard, and that's how I passed the practical.

7. Cattleman84

Cattleman84 Road Train Member

Nov 1, 2017
    The Sticks, Idaho