Is it possible to hit gym still while trucking?

Discussion in 'Driver Health' started by BruBakers, Mar 28, 2007.

1. BruBakers

BruBakers Bobtail Member

Feb 15, 2007
    Newbie here.
    Is it possible to hit gym still while out on the road? GYM= meaning like a true weight room like Golds Gym, 24 Hour fitness, LA Fitness, etc?
    I would love to hit the gym every now and then, plus they have showers.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. BruBakers

BruBakers Bobtail Member

Feb 15, 2007
    Be nice if the terminals had a gym.

4. Bullwinkle

Bullwinkle Medium Load Member

Jun 11, 2006
    Texas
    Going to be very difficult to do this. I have heard that some larger companies have small gyms at their terminals, not sure how often you would be able to get into them though.

I carried a set of dumbells, pvc push up handles, and those forearm/hand exercisers that fit in your hand and squeeze (can't remeber what they are called)

5. lil daddy

lil daddy Light Load Member

Jan 18, 2007
    There are gyms all over the country and most are accesible in a big truck, I personally carry weights in the truck and workout every morning first thing regardless to where I am or what I'm doing. The first hour of everyday is mine. If you're so busy that you can't give yourself 1hr out of 24hrs to do something good for yourself than somethings wrong.

I normally make it to a gym about 3 to 4 days a week. Theres no substitute for the feeling that I get from moving heavy steel and a good cardio session. Oh,yeah the sauna and the swimming pools are nice too. Most gyms wiil charge you 10 to 15 bucks a day depending on how nice they are. It's a small price to pay for an excellent workout. Good luck.

Splenda Thanks this.
  6. aristotle35769

aristotle35769 Light Load Member

Feb 25, 2008
    Scottsboro, Alabama