Is now the time for a change? Should I go Over The Road?

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Flatbedder 1966, Dec 15, 2018.

1. Flatbedder 1966

Flatbedder 1966 Light Load Member

Nov 4, 2010
    MS
    I've been driving an entertainer coach, tour bus, for over 2 years now. It's been a good job. Met a lot of interesting people, been to a lot of great venues and stayed a lot of nice hotels but I'm just getting burned out on the cycles involved in the industry. There are times I'm gone weeks on end with no home time and then there are slow times where I sit at home for weeks waiting on a trip. I have no benefits other than hourly driving pay, which is definitely not up to par when given the amount of responsibility I'm dealing with. No health, dental or vision insurance, 401k, life insurance, etc. Big thing is ABSOLUTELY NO PAY whatsoever when sitting at home waiting but at the same time I'm expected to be available at a moments notice when called for any trip regardless of how short or long it may be. It's like being on call all the time. I have to drive 90 miles one way to pick up the tour bus each time and drive home the same. No mileage pay for that either way.
    I'm looking to go back OTR so I can have more pay and benefits and a more normal schedule if thats possible. I have several offers but have narrowed them down to just a few dry van companies in particular and honestly want some opinions on what some drivers that have been out there a while now think. They are Averitt Express, CalArk, National Carriers, and Hill Brothers. I have done tanker and flatbed in the past and have no desire to get into that market. If anyone has any opinions on these companies I'd appreciate you sharing them. Please keep your answers professional and on topic. Thanks in advance.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Omega1

Omega1 Heavy Load Member

Nov 18, 2017
    Oregon