Just got my CDL today, any advice is great advice!

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by giroux320, Sep 12, 2019.

1. giroux320

giroux320 Bobtail Member

Sep 24, 2018
    Just got my CDL with Haz, Dbl/Trp, and Tanker. I have been applying for local and regional positions around the Philadelphia area. My long term goal is to land a linehaul position with an LTL Company around my area but I know I'm gonna have to get my experience up prior. If you have any advice on which companies I should consider to begin racking up my miles please share. Any other advise is great as well! Thanks!

FoolsErrand, FlaSwampRat and Chinatown Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. drivingmissdaisy

drivingmissdaisy Road Train Member

Jun 10, 2019
    You'll probably have to start at the bottom running dry van to get experience. I doubt many will hire a complete newbie and throw them in a tanker hauling hazmat. But I could be wrong.

Good luck and be safe.

4. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    @Chinatown will be along shortly.

If you hire on with someone, do your best not to be noticed. As in that one who quietly goes about his loads unnoticed by anyone. the problem with newbies is they sometimes wanna run the company after two months. And wonder what happened when they get dumped like a undesirable boy or girlfriend.

The next thing goes without saying. When you move a semi a inch here to there, you are responsible personally, economically and so forth for anything, and any people you hit and break. Look around a bit before you decide to move. Or better yet get out and look a thousand times before you move, no one is going to sit there and say hey, you are now taking too long. (You will get enough of that already soonest)