Kansas City, Kansas native, interested in trucking!

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by SwimJigJake, May 21, 2018.

1. SwimJigJake

SwimJigJake Bobtail Member

May 21, 2018
    Hey there, TR people! As the title of the thread states, I'm interested in getting into the trucking industry, but with a little lurking here and there, and lots of googling, I still almost have no where to turn, It's a little overwhelming honestly, I'm not sure where to start, so I figured I'd sign up here and see if I couldn't get some answers or have anyone point me in the right direction.
    I have zero experience in trucking whatsoever, unless you wanna count me towing my 18ft fiberglass bass boat to and from various lakes around the area! I know nothing of how they work, operate, I've never driven manual, etc. I'm 23 years old, so I figured I'm in my prime time to learn! I've seen several schooling options around here, APEX CDL for example, but I feel I'd be a little more comfortable starting on with a company that does paid CDL training. What are the steps, what do you guys recommend for someone wanting to get into trucking? Does anyone know of any trucking companies in the area that provide CDL training?

Thanks,
    -Jacob.

Coffey Thanks this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. ethos

ethos Road Train Member

Mar 3, 2013
    Houston
    A big truck manual and a car manual are two very different things, so that won't be a problem.

Paid CDL training comes with a catch, you usually have to stay a year to pay it off. Not necessarily a bad thing, just something to be aware of. Look up some of the big companies and look at their hiring areas and give them a call. Bigger companies are usually the only ones that offer paid CDL training.

4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient