Knee replacement and CDL

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by WREN, Oct 15, 2018.

1. WREN

WREN Medium Load Member

Jul 17, 2017
    Florida panhandle
    Ok, anyone still working after a partial knee replacement? I've been sucking it up for the last 24 years after getting hurt and injuring both knees in the Corps and then a career as A LEO and truck driver hasn't helped. I retired from law enforcement 6 years ago and have been driving full time since and it's gotten just about unbearable. I had a scope done 2 weeks ago and he said my knee cap is shot and needs to be replaced. It's my right knee, but the left isnt far behind. Granted, if the VA ups mu ratings I may just 100 percent retire, but if not I'm only 44 so still have years ahead of me hopefully.

skellr and Oldironfan Thank this.
  2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. pmdriver

pmdriver Road Train Member

Nov 14, 2017
    From all I have heard having it done they said it was the best decision they made, some went years doing the band aid quick fixes and finally had it done and are loving the mobility again, Get it done while you are still young you body heals easier than when you are older. And if you are overweight start working on that now so you will not put so much stress on your new joint.

BigBob410 Thanks this.
  4. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    My friend had his knee blown out while serving in 5th Special Forces in Vietnam. He gets a knee replacement every 5 years and doesn't limp at all. Being around him and watching his movements, you'd never know he has been wounded. 3 Purple Hearts and he's going strong. The VA has him rated 100% disabled, but he says, "OK, whatever you say; here's my address, make sure the checks arrive on time,"