Liftgate for 28' trailer. Standard gates won't fit!

Discussion in 'Trucks [ Eighteen Wheelers ]' started by EZ Grip Company, Aug 12, 2020.

1. EZ Grip Company

EZ Grip Company Bobtail Member

Aug 12, 2020
    Hey guys, So I work in the film industry and I am a teamster Local 399. I bought a 28' trailer with a rail gate on it but I want to change out that gate and put an industry standard canteliver style gate on it. The problem I've run into is I only have about 18" of clearance to the rear axle. All of the standard gates from the big manufacturers require 36+ inches.

I have a friend who has a Waltco 1090 series gate on his 28' trailer and while it isn't a leveling gate it's better than a rail gate for two reasons. One it allows curbside loading because it doesn't have the chains like a rail gate and two it allows for standard swing doors on the back of the box.

My question is: Do any of you know of a gate out there that will work with very low clearance. Or do any of you know someone who designs custom lift gates so I can get one made to fit this application specifically?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Refferandtrucks

Refferandtrucks Bobtail Member

Aug 11, 2020
    Try and find it at your nearest great Dane they will have it

4. Sho Nuff

Sho Nuff Road Train Member

Apr 9, 2015
    I'm assuming your 28' rail liftgate trailer looks something similar to this.......

Dry-Van-Trailers-Great-Dane-28-TANDEM-AXLE-ROLL-DOOR-LIFT-GATE-DRY-VAN-18985204.jpg