Local to OTR

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by Dragonheart, Aug 29, 2018.

1. Dragonheart

Dragonheart Light Load Member

Aug 24, 2018
    I graduated a few weeks ago. I want experience but I want to stay home so I found a local job delivering coke.

In two years I want to go over the road.

Will local delivery help or at least shorten the amount of training needed for over the road?
    Will the experience help in making more?

Thank you

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Yes, it's ok to do the beverage delivery. Later companies will hire you and put you through a refresher course. In the mean time, get all the endorsements so you'll be prepared for the better paying jobs.

4. Moose1958

Moose1958 Road Train Member

Dec 17, 2010
    Williesburg, Virignia
    Careful now. Get that soda pop stuff in your blood and you won't give it up. Some of those store DSD clerks are VERY easy on the eyes!

Texas_hwy_287 and SingingWolf Thank this.
  5. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Here's one example that hires in your area:
    CTL Transportation, LLC
    Atmore, AL
    $1,100 - $1,200 a week
    Recent Grads .55 cpm plus $19/hr and $1500 sign on bonus.
    [​IMG][​IMG]

VIDEODROME and SingingWolf Thank this.
  6. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009
    Copied in Hell
    I don’t know your experience level, I don’t know what you can or cannot do. If you’re local and have a manual truck, you do a lot of shifting. When you decide to go OTR, DONT go to a training company. Especially if you’re pulling the same type of trailer as the local. You won’t need training and a training company will tell you that you do. Don’t join the circus just because you’re wanting to travel.

Luck in battle.

7. Dragonheart

Aug 24, 2018