Looking for a decent school to start my career otr.

Discussion in 'Trucking Schools and CDL Training Forum' started by OntoExplorationz, Jun 8, 2022.

1. OntoExplorationz

OntoExplorationz Bobtail Member

Jun 8, 2022
    Hello, I am 27 years old located in Pittsburgh, PA. I have been working as an equipment operator for most of my years but as of now I am looking to get into a new career. I am stuck on where I should go to begin my training. I have no experience driving trucks so I am going into this completely green.

What is a decent school that I can start out with that will train me while I obtain my CDL?
    I have heard some bad stories about swift and Driver solutions. I spoke with Driver Solutions they want me to drive down to North Carolina and start their training program. I am hesitant on this due to the fact I have heard some pretty bad experiences with the schooling as well as PAM

I am hoping to be able to drive solo when I am finished with training. Team driving is fine however my main priority is the quality of the school.

There is a local campus that offers 2 separate classes. total of $6,000 for 4 weeks. The issue with this is I cannot attend the classes when I work 11-12 hours a day which is why I am looking to transition right into a company that provides training and an opportunity to get on the road when completed.

All my driving, accident and background records are spot clean.

If you can point me in the right direction I would appreciate it, thanks.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member

Aug 28, 2011
    Henderson, NV & Orient
    Training Provider Registry
    This is the list of companies authorized by the FMCSA to provide cdl training.
    Can also attend a trucking company cdl training.
    ~
    Community college cdl programs are highly recommeded. Most companies hire from those.

Last edited: Jun 8, 2022