Looking for advice on getting into trucking. near Dumfries VA?

Discussion in 'Questions To Truckers From The General Public' started by hockeydudeva, Sep 13, 2018.

1. hockeydudeva

hockeydudeva Bobtail Member

Sep 13, 2018
    Traveling here by myself and thinking about getting into trucking anybody near dumfries Va got any advice?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. clarkboys6

clarkboys6 Bobtail Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Central VA
    Well, I'm not a trucker but I have researched this profession over the past 6-months and I'm in the Lynchburg, VA area. I have no experience or skills related to trucking, but I have burned up many, many hours researching options that may be appropriate for the next chapter in my own life. I would suggest that you expand on your question and give the pros on this forum a little more information about yourself and why you are "thinking about getting into trucking". If you give them something to work with, I believe you will find many guys/gals here that are more than willing to help you. I have certainly been blessed by their input. Go Leafs!

x1Heavy Thanks this.
  4. x1Heavy

x1Heavy Road Train Member

Mar 5, 2016
    White County, Arkansas
    Ive been thinking about this as well.

When you mention Dumfries I instantly go back in time to my past sitting on their platform with a seacan at 110K permitted for 99K in two states and sweating as the Law inside the building eyeballs everything, me and truck and considers the issue. It's really common until I learned to use either the US 301 bridge (UGH....) or the US 15.

I don't even know if that scale is still operational I have not been there since Arlington in 2004.