Looking for change, maybe lease or 1099

Discussion in 'Experienced Truckers' Advice' started by ZhenyaP1991, May 27, 2022.

1. ZhenyaP1991

ZhenyaP1991 Medium Load Member

Nov 6, 2014
    So, next month I'll be officially debt free with no bills. I've been a company driver close to a decade and I want to experience something different. Maybe a lease or 1099. I am leaning towards more 1099 since a lot of employers I contacted speak my language and it brings comfort to me.
    So, this is a whole new industry to me. I have no idea what I am doing, but I want to try it. Everytime I get a facebook msg, it looks like a spam and a scam. How would one trust a 1099 employer? I am tho pretty familiar with 1099 taxes, but not how they move trucks. Is it possible to pick your own loads as 1099 and kind of be owner operator in disguise?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Flat Earth Trucker

Flat Earth Trucker Road Train Member

Nov 19, 2018
    I'm pretty sure a native born English speaker can swindle a fellow English speaker just as easily as one Russian can rip off another Russian.

Never heard anything kind about the 1099 set up or lease purchase. Best to apply for a bank loan if you want to purchase your own tractor.

4. gentleroger

gentleroger Road Train Member

Jun 1, 2010
    You don't.

If the title for the truck isn't in your name, or the lease agreement is dependent on your employment with the carrier, you're getting scammed and/or abused.

If you're a serious guy, have a conversation with @Dave_in_AZ and @otterinthewater about good ways to get into truck ownership.

5. Dave_in_AZ

Dave_in_AZ Road Train Member

May 4, 2015
    I don't know about all that.

I put guys in trucks with $0 money up front.

I do require they stay at Landstar until they pay off the truck.

For someone to walk up, hand you the keys to a truck with 0 risk to you, isn't exactly what I'd call abuse.