Looking to change career in January, 2021

Discussion in 'Questions From New Drivers' started by jonesjw, Oct 26, 2020.

1. jonesjw

jonesjw Bobtail Member

Oct 26, 2020
    TN
    Sorry, I'm new to the site and had posted this as a "conversation" with Chinatown (who gave me some GREAT advice). I thought it would be a "thread" instead. I am soliciting answers from more professionals out there....

Hello all, I am brand new to this board (as of today) and brand new to trucking! My wife's dad was OTR for 47 years and that's all I know about trucking. We have traveled all over US in our RV or towing 5th wheel. We love to travel and ain't afraid of work. I've been working for 30 years as a Computer Network Engineer. I'm absolutely burnt out on this stressful career. We are not rich, but have a good retirement bank, a decent savings, and decent emergency fund. We are Dave Ramsey fans. I am / was also an old TN farm boy and mechanic (probably not a farmer out there that's not a mechanic; at least a successful one) haha...

My wife of 29 years and I, are both 50. I want to learn trucking the "right way" / no shortcuts, no quick and easy overconfident schemes or myths. I want to be respected in this industry (eventually) and return that respect to every one else. We have no debt (still finishing up the house - 4 more years), don't need 100k a year, but would like to earn a decent living that takes care of our bills, allows us to see more of the US, and continue to put some back for retirement. Before you say "team driving", my wife is not interested. However, we do want to be / travel together once I feel safe in the truck and the company allows.