LTL out of Memphis, TN

Discussion in 'LTL and Local Delivery Trucking Forum' started by AndrewMemphis, Oct 27, 2013.

1. AndrewMemphis

AndrewMemphis Light Load Member

Jan 5, 2013
    Southeast region
    So I'm a JB Hunt driver and I like it a lot. I stay out for 28 days at a time and make .41 cpm. I've been with them since July. Before that I was on a local Net Ops line haul run with Werner but I changed to OTR because I wanted to see the country and get away from my family so I could grow up some. (I was 26) So I went OTR with Werner and it was the biggest mistake ever. I was making a lot less money and barely bringing home 200 dollars with them OTR.

If you didn't have a load on Friday evening you were screwed as you had to wait till your Fleet Manager came in on Monday to find anything. But I really like it here at JB, I just want to be home more frequently. It's exhausting and lonely to stay out as long as I do. I know they have local intermodal but everytime I visit that terminal I feel like they give me the run around. They give me a number to call and no one answers, or they claim they're not hiring although they have a big sign out front. What do you guys think I should do? I've learned a lot in my past year of driving but are there any options for me?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. road_runner

road_runner Road Train Member

Mar 26, 2012
    Montucky
    Try USF Holland. They got a terminal right there in Memphis.

blairandgretchen Thanks this.
  4. ACH1130

ACH1130 Road Train Member

Jan 23, 2011
    Land of far far away,
    Check around it is a big area. You got YRC, and I'm sure ABF, UPSF, Old D, CWF, and Estes ate all around there too

5. Oi!

Oi! Road Train Member

Jun 20, 2011
    Florida
    The Conway Freight there is gigantic. Well, probably any company will have a big yard there. It shouldn't be too hard to find a job.