Making a change

Discussion in 'Trucking Jobs' started by cabbiesouth, Feb 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cabbiesouth

cabbiesouth Bobtail Member

Feb 24, 2007
    Trinity
    Hello all, I've been a Taxi Driver for over 23 years. Not sure if I did this right . But I went out and got a CDL A. No school just took the test in a friends truck. I'm licensed by the City of Houston with homeland security and something like a DOT physical, drug test and all the back ground checks that come with it. Anyone have a dry pocket?
    But my past sucks . My last DUI was in 94. I drive over 400 miles a day. In all these years I have only had one speeding ticket. Put a stop to the drinking in 94, no drugs. Looking for a job with Swift. My Question is will my DUI's from my past be held against me for the rest of my life? I've contracted with Tex-tot and they seem to be alright with it. Got good people at work that will stand up for me, been there 20 years. My safety man is on my side
    What do you guys think about sharing the road with a guy with that kind of baggage?

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. The New Yorker

The New Yorker Light Load Member

Dec 9, 2005
    ZOO York
    If your being honest, nae, good luck. Although some type of schooling would be nice.

4. cabbiesouth

Feb 24, 2007
    Trinity
    That's my plan. As a cab driver all these years my company still likes for us to take a defensive driving course every couple of years. I feel it's a good idea, but still go on about why me and all that and try to get out of it. I still go anyway and find I always learn something I forgot.