May Trucking from the start

Discussion in 'May Trucking' started by jml2007, Jul 25, 2010.

1. jml2007

jml2007 Bobtail Member

Jan 22, 2009
    AZ Desert
    I have decided to start a new thread on my experience with May Trucking. I used this site to check out May and other companies, so I hope this helps any one else thinking about May. I graduated Southwest Truck Driver Training in Phoenix, AZ on June 24th, 2010. SWTDT is a good school and if anyone has any questions about them, contact me and I will give you more info. I had been pre hired by a few different companies but after investigating and reading the different threads on the site, I chose to go with May.

I attended their 3 day orentation in Phoenix. I assume typical of any orentation: paperwork, videos, company policies, drug test, Qualcomm, logbooks (May as of July 1st is paperless) and tire chaining. There were rumors at our school and on this site I believe about May's backing skills test at the Phoenix terminal. It was rumored that they are very strict on the 45 degree alley back. I had passed my backing test in school with no problem and felt comfortable with my skills. Arizona took the 45 degree off the states test so the school does not have to teach it. Luckily my group at school was small and we advanced enough to where the range instructor had us practicing the 45 for an hour every day. Well all this said, I was nervous the first day of orentation because the first thing up was the backing test. All I can say is you should be able to drive/back a truck and thats what May wants. Enough said the 45 test wasn't that bad and its all history from there.