May Trucking new driver training

Discussion in 'May Trucking' started by Honua Gal, Feb 15, 2008.

1. Honua Gal

Honua Gal Light Load Member

Nov 13, 2007
    SW WA
    I am a new driver who just accepted an offer from May this week and will go through their new driver program starting next Wednesday. I thought I'd start a thread on my experiences, for better or worse, as a new driver for May. I am hoping that my own journey may help other new drivers make decisions, as so many people's posts here have helped me.

So, this is what I know about May right now: May is based in Salem, Oregon running 900 trucks in two divisions: 48 state (which requires a hazmat endorsement) and 11 western (which doesn't). It fit the bill for me as another medium sized NW company, so I applied and was accepted within a week. After getting accepted, my husband and I drove down to Salem to see the operation and get more information. (FWIW - I'm planning to drive solo OTR, but it is important to me that my husband has all his questions and concerns addressed as well, which is why I asked him to go to Salem with me.) We spent about two hours there, getting a tour of the base yard, maintenance, ops dispatch center, and spent over an hour talking to the Driver Services Mgr. He really took time to answer all of our questions.