Melton or System Transport for a rookie?

Discussion in 'Flatbed Trucking Forum' started by Feanor, May 27, 2017.

1. Feanor

Feanor Bobtail Member

May 24, 2017
    Hi, I am a newbie working on my CDL right now. For some reference, I am single and hometime is not an issue. I live in North Idaho, right next to Spokane, WA.

So I have been doing a ton of research and narrowed down my choices to a couple companies I hope to work for: System Transport based out of Spokane, WA, or Melton Truck Lines, out of Tulsa, OK.

Melton pays significantly better after 1yr experience, but System is right next door to me, and also pays pretty well, especially in the first year. So here are some questions I had for drivers who work/have worked for these companies.

What are your average miles as an OTR Flatbedder? What about Regional? Does Melton have Regional options (I know System does)? Do you have to deliver to NYC/Northeast alot with Melton? The more details the better, I would really like to know how much I could expect, realistically, to make as a young single male who doesn't mind running hard and has no hometime issues. Both as a rookie and going forward.

Also very important is, what pay method do these companies use? Hub, practical, or HHG? I am having trouble finding any info on that for either of them.

Any input would be much appreciated, tia!

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Dave_in_AZ

Dave_in_AZ Road Train Member

May 4, 2015
    This is what I know about those two companies. Melton runs east of I-35. System runs the west coast.

4. Roberts450

Roberts450 Road Train Member

Feb 6, 2016
    They both run blue t660's too.

5. TripleSix

TripleSix God of Roads

Apr 10, 2009
    Copied in Hell
    Melton is a stick and brick hauler. Systems has more options for today and tomorrow. Systems for the win.

TheDudeAbides Thanks this.
  6. Chinatown

Chinatown Road Train Member