Mini Freezer in the truck? Is it doable?

Discussion in 'Trucking Electronics, Gadgets and Software Forum' started by anderst127, Feb 11, 2018.

1. anderst127

anderst127 Bobtail Member

Feb 11, 2018
    I'm new to the industry, and actually haven't even begun school yet, however I'm doing the best I can to plan for a healthy lifestyle over the road. I have been looking into mini freezers (the ones that are about 1.1 cubic foot) as a step to implement a healthier diet. Basically, it's for frozen chicken and fish. Does anyone use a mini freezer? I've seen alot of people who use mini fridges, but just wondering if a mini freezer is common or used really at all by anyone.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. blairandgretchen

blairandgretchen Road Train Member

Dec 9, 2011
    South west Missouri
    ENGEL -

It's about $700 - refrigerates and turns down to freeze if necessary.

Used one for over 10 years, faultless.

4. IluvCATS

IluvCATS Road Train Member

Dec 1, 2014
    Seattle, WA
    I’m also interested in an extra cooler or freezer. My hot logic lunch box works so good that I just want to go on a shopping spree for ready made foods.

Aamcotrans Thanks this.
  5. blairandgretchen

blairandgretchen Road Train Member

Dec 9, 2011
    South west Missouri

Every time I see that adorable little kitty behind the wheel I want to recommend it to state legislators as an alternative to 18 year olds driving big rigs.

That being said - check out those ENGEL units - made for the RV market, swing motor compressor thingy thing. Held up to LOADS of PUNISHMENT.

mhyn and IluvCATS Thank this.
  6. Oldironfan

Oldironfan Road Train Member

May 22, 2017
    Just haul frozen food and keep it in reefer.

tommymonza, Aamcotrans and IluvCATS Thank this.
  7. The Kraut

The Kraut Medium Load Member

Sep 5, 2013
    Land of Enchantment