My old small CB works better than new unit

Discussion in 'CB Radio Forum' started by InTooDeep, Dec 16, 2018.

1. InTooDeep

InTooDeep Donner party survivor

Jan 17, 2016
    Carmichael CA
    2016 cascadia with 4' perch mount ant. I have a Uniden pro 520 xl which is a little tiny unit that I used to use. Then picked up a Uniden bearcat 980SSB with points. I am not very good with the CB tech at all so please dumb down your replies so that a 6th grader can understand thanks. Ok here is the thing, when I was using the 520 I had good range sending and receiving ( 5 miles or so) when switching to the 980 it dropped to where I could probably yell further. I didn't want to take it in and have it tuned (whatever that means see 6th grader lol) because I will be selling this truck and picking up a new one in the next few months. It might seem strange that I have been driving so long to not have this stuff figured out but never really dug into it. 1 Long story longer why does the cheaper smaller unit work so much better? 2 what does the peak and tune do and how much? Thank you and I promise to start doing my homework on this.

2. Truckers Report Jobs

Trucking Jobs in 30 seconds

Every month 400 people find a job with the help of TruckersReport.

3. Ridgeline

Ridgeline Road Train Member

Dec 18, 2011
    Michigan
    OK I will simplify it for you, no disrespect to you.

Just because it is newer, it does not mean it is better.

I have a johnson 323a radio that is one of the best designed radios made but people think that their $300 export super duper radio is better.

I would just keep what works in place, it works.

sell the 980, enjoy the money with a good dinner.

Oh the peak and tune, don't bother, most can't do a good job to begin with.

4. Jazz1

Jazz1 Road Train Member

May 7, 2012
    Thunder Bay On