My time with Roehl Transport.

Discussion in 'Discuss Your Favorite Trucking Company Here' started by Tarzan528, Aug 16, 2010.

1. Tarzan528

Tarzan528 Bobtail Member

Jun 5, 2010
    Yes, I am brand new to the trucking industry, so I have no reference with which to compare Roehl. This thread is simply for my observations, and yes it is still early, but my first impressions of them are very good. This thread is also a way for my family (and anyone else who is interested) to follow my first year with Roehl Transport. That being said..... I'll now continue.

This Thursday I completed Roehl Transports 3 1/2 day orientation and am now sitting at home waiting for a trainer. I am a student driver with a shiny new cdl dated July 16th.

Day 0

I was one of only 2 of the drivers who ended up taking a bus to Marshfield, Wisconsin. (Roehl will fly you, rent you a car, or get you a bus ticket. It's your choice) I'm in Georgia, and couldn't find anyone to take me into Atlanta at 7 am to catch a flight, and the rental car company they use down here is at the same airport, so that left me catching a bus closer to home and spending the next 24 hours crammed into a very uncomfortable seat in a very full Greyhound bus. About half way through the trip it occurred to me that I could have taken a bus to the airport and saved my self alot of pain and suffering. Oh well, hindsight is 20/20, I guess.

In addition to the extreme discomfort, I also found that Airlines are not the only transportation companies that can and do lose your luggage. It shocked me that it was even possible, but Greyhound managed to remove my bag from the bus I was on and place it in a bus that I was not on. I did manage to get my bag back the next day, but I still had to take a cab to the Marshfield Wal-mart to buy clothes for the first day of Orientation as I had been wearing the clothes I was in for over 24 hours. But I made it there in one piece and had a couple of good stories to tell friends.

Day 1